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	<title>websavant &#187; 101</title>
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	<link>http://websavant.net</link>
	<description>personal blog of Kimberly Carroll</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Mon, 22 Feb 2010 18:47:36 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	
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		<title>How to Speak SEO Geek: Two URLs for Marketers</title>
		<link>http://websavant.net/2005/how-to-speak-seo-geek-two-urls-for-marketers/</link>
		<comments>http://websavant.net/2005/how-to-speak-seo-geek-two-urls-for-marketers/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 10 Apr 2005 16:11:29 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>websavant</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Online Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[101]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[seo]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://websavant.net/?p=75</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[I was recently updating a resource list for an upcoming talk on Search Marketing, and came across these two links. Both are good resources for people just learning about SEO and trying to grasp just how this search thing works. I am a big fan of starting with the basics &#8211; the terminology and technology [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I was recently updating a resource list for an upcoming talk on Search Marketing, and came across these two links. Both are good resources for people just learning about SEO and trying to grasp just how this search thing works. I am a big fan of starting with the basics &#8211; the terminology and technology here are just that.</p>
<p>Search Engine Optimization (SEO): How to speak SEO Geek<br />
http://www.sempo.org/glossary.php</p>
<p>How Google Works:<br />
When you understand the inner workings, it starts to make more sense<br />
http://www.googleguide.com/google_works.html</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<item>
		<title>The CPA of CPC: How The Cost of Acquisition and Cost Per Click Work Together</title>
		<link>http://websavant.net/2004/the-cpa-of-cpc-how-the-cost-of-acquisition-and-cost-per-click-work-together/</link>
		<comments>http://websavant.net/2004/the-cpa-of-cpc-how-the-cost-of-acquisition-and-cost-per-click-work-together/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 14 Jun 2004 13:14:14 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>websavant</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Online Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[101]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[cpa]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[cpc]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://websavant.net/?p=65</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[A few quick notes on creating keyword campaigns
Cost-Per-Click (CPC) ads on Google and Overture are nothing new, but perhaps thinking about them in terms of cost per acquisition rather than per click is new to you. To review, CPC works like this:

You find a keyword that will bring you traffic.
You bid on that keyword.
People click [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><span style="font-family: Verdana;">A few quick notes on creating keyword campaigns</span></p>
<p>Cost-Per-Click (CPC) ads on Google and Overture are nothing new, but perhaps thinking about them in terms of cost per acquisition rather than per click is new to you. To review, CPC works like this:</p>
<ul>
<li><span style="font-family: Verdana;">You find a keyword that will bring you traffic.</span></li>
<li><span style="font-family: Verdana;">You bid on that keyword.</span></li>
<li><span style="font-family: Verdana;">People click your PPC ad and come to your site.</span></li>
<li><span style="font-family: Verdana;">They buy stuff.</span></li>
<li><span style="font-family: Verdana;">You’re happy.</span></li>
<li><span style="font-family: Verdana;">And it only cost you 10¢ for the click! What a bargain.<br />
</span></li>
</ul>
<p><span style="font-family: Verdana;"><br />
Or is it?</span></p>
<p>Let’s say that you get 100 clicks on your ad.<br />
And of those 100 clicks, 1 person buys your product. (that’s a 1% conversion rate)<br />
Let’s say your average sale is $35.00</p>
<p>You paid this much for your ad: 100 x 10¢= $10<br />
Which means your Cost-Per-Acquistion (CPA) was $10</p>
<p>Can you afford to pay $10 for every $35 you make?</p>
<p>CPA is an important consideration when creating PPC campaigns.<br />
It’s affected by:</p>
<ul>
<li><span style="font-family: Verdana;">The number of clicks you receive</span></li>
<li><span style="font-family: Verdana;">The number of people who buy from those clicks</span></li>
<li><span style="font-family: Verdana;">The amount you pay per click<br />
</span></li>
</ul>
<p><span style="font-family: Verdana;"><br />
You can dramatically alter your CPA by paying attention to:<br />
</span></p>
<ul>
<li><span style="font-family: Verdana;">The relevancy of the ad you place with the keyword</span></li>
<li><span style="font-family: Verdana;">The destination you link the ad to (does it make sense to the user and does it help them or confuse them?)</span></li>
<li><span style="font-family: Verdana;">The price you’re paying per click</span></li>
<li><span style="font-family: Verdana;">Conversion rate from visitor to buyer</span></li>
<li><span style="font-family: Verdana;">Abandonment rates – figure out why they are leaving without buying</span></li>
</ul>
]]></content:encoded>
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		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Your Site Needs A Creative Brief</title>
		<link>http://websavant.net/2004/your-site-needs-a-creative-brief/</link>
		<comments>http://websavant.net/2004/your-site-needs-a-creative-brief/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 23 Feb 2004 06:14:07 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>websavant</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Creating Websites]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[101]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[creative brief]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[strategy]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://websavant.net/?p=42</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Don&#8217;t Know Where To Start Writing A Creative Brief?
Everyday I am asked to look at some struggling project or web site to see if I have ideas for making it better. And after hundreds, if not thousands, of these requests I&#8217;ve found that one thing unifies them all: no creative brief.
If you know me at [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Don&#8217;t Know Where To Start Writing A Creative Brief?</p>
<p>Everyday I am asked to look at some struggling project or web site to see if I have ideas for making it better. And after hundreds, if not thousands, of these requests I&#8217;ve found that one thing unifies them all: no creative brief.</p>
<p>If you know me at all, you know that I harp on this issue all of the time. Creative Briefs are the best way to make sure that the outcome of your project is what you intended it to be. It gives the team a clear picture of what you&#8217;re trying to build, who you&#8217;re talking to and what they need to accomplish. You would never, never, never build a house without a blueprint &#8211; and you should never, never, never build a site without a creative brief.</p>
<p>But what happens when you&#8217;re not confident enough to write that initial brief? Or you don&#8217;t know what words to use? Or you&#8217;re working with a team on the other side of the world and you want to make sure they understand what you mean when you say rustic-elegance?</p>
<p>First, you should know that you&#8217;re not alone. Sometimes I am in those shoes myself. Despite the savantness you often tease me about, or as my friend Keith calls it &#8220;the encyclopedia brown gene&#8221;, I don&#8217;t always have the answer. Sometimes I get stuck, frustrated, and utterly unmotivated to face the big blank sheet of paper titled &#8220;creative brief&#8221;.</p>
<p>So here&#8217;s what I do&#8230; I get out my scissors and glue sticks and a sheet of tag board and a big stack of magazines, books, catalogs, newspapers, junk mail, anything that grabs my fancy. Then I start cutting out, or photocopying, things that match the vibe I am going for.</p>
<p>Maybe things someone who would buy my product might also buy.<br />
Places they might live.<br />
Things they might read.<br />
Or ads, products or designs that match the mood or style I am after.<br />
Even things I definintely DON&#8217;T want can be added to the mix.</p>
<p>I create an inspiration board that helps me to clarify my own ideas about the direction. This process starts to spark ideas, and provides visuals that can help me better communicate my ideas &amp; goals.</p>
<p>You can also do this online &#8211; copying images and urls into a Word document.</p>
<p>Bottom line &#8211; it gets the creative energy flowing. Keeps me from staring at a blank sheet of paper and helps me to process my gut ideas. It&#8217;s just one of the techniques available to you when you&#8217;re stuck. And it works!</p>
<p>Let&#8217;s take rustic cabin for example. What do you think of when I say that?</p>
<p>This kind of rustic?</p>
<p><img class="size-large wp-image-43 alignnone" title="Rustic Cabin" src="http://websavant.net/wp-content/uploads/2009/09/Rustic-Cabin-463x600.jpg" alt="Rustic Cabin" width="463" height="600" /></p>
<p>or this kind of rustic?</p>
<p><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-44" title="Purcell_Mountain_Lodge" src="http://websavant.net/wp-content/uploads/2009/09/Purcell_Mountain_Lodge.jpg" alt="Purcell_Mountain_Lodge" width="350" height="235" /></p>
<div style="margin-top: 0px; margin-right: 0px; margin-bottom: 0.75em; margin-left: 0px; line-height: 1.6em;">I can build you a site that matches either of these two inspirations, but without a creative brief how will I know for sure which you were after? So stop procrastinating and get out the glue sticks!</div>
]]></content:encoded>
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		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Send a Web Page as an HTML Newsletter</title>
		<link>http://websavant.net/2003/send-a-web-page-as-an-html-newsletter/</link>
		<comments>http://websavant.net/2003/send-a-web-page-as-an-html-newsletter/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 13 Nov 2003 07:19:07 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>websavant</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Online Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[101]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[email]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[outlook express]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://websavant.net/?p=27</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Quick Tip: Sending already built web pages as html newsletters.
This is a great resource for those of you with a library of articles already created, or perhaps a deals page that your trusty web team keeps updated for you.
With a few clicks you can re-use that web page and send it as an email message.
The [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Quick Tip: Sending already built web pages as html newsletters.</p>
<p>This is a great resource for those of you with a library of articles already created, or perhaps a deals page that your trusty web team keeps updated for you.</p>
<p>With a few clicks you can re-use that web page and send it as an email message.<br />
The caveats: you have to setup your Outlook Express using the instructions I posted on 09/09/03 and you have to be on a PC.</p>
<p>So here&#8217;s what you do&#8230;<br />
Open Internet Explorer and navigate to the page you want to send.<br />
File&#8230; Send&#8230; Page by Email</p>
<p>This will create a new Outlook Express message with the chosen web page as the content of the message.</p>
<p>BE ABSOLUTELY SURE YOU&#8217;VE PROPERLY SET UP OUTLOOK EXPRESS OR YOUR RECIPIENT LIST WILL RECEIVE AN ENORMOUSLY LARGE EMAIL MESSAGE WITH TONS OF ATTACHMENTS AND THEY WILL BE VERY VERY UPSET WITH YOU.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Sending HTML Newsletters via Outlook Express: How to Avoid Spam Flags</title>
		<link>http://websavant.net/2003/sending-html-newsletters-via-outlook-express-how-to-avoid-spam-flags/</link>
		<comments>http://websavant.net/2003/sending-html-newsletters-via-outlook-express-how-to-avoid-spam-flags/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 09 Sep 2003 08:17:52 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>websavant</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Online Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[101]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[email]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[outlook express]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://websavant.net/?p=24</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[If you use outlook express to send your email newsletters, there is a very good chance that they are going directly to the trash. Your hard work and dollars wasted!!
When you send email messages from Outlook Express, the default setting is to include images as attachments. So if your HTML file calls 1 image or [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>If you use outlook express to send your email newsletters, there is a very good chance that they are going directly to the trash. Your hard work and dollars wasted!!</p>
<p>When you send email messages from Outlook Express, the default setting is to include images as attachments. So if your HTML file calls 1 image or 30 images, each will attach itself to the email. This happens without your doing anything &#8211; so even if your HTML is perfect, Outlook Express will override it.</p>
<p>This clunky html message with a bunch of images attached clearly indicates to the recipient&#8217;s spam filter that this message is most likely spam.</p>
<p>How to remedy?</p>
<p>TOOLS&#8230; OPTIONS<br />
Click the SEND tab<br />
Under mail sending format make sure HTML is checked.<br />
CLICK THE HTML SETTINGS BUTTON<br />
Make sure “Send pictures with messages” is NOT checked.</p>
<p>CLICK OK<br />
You return to Options dialog box<br />
CLICK OK<br />
You return to your application.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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